Many people decide on a career path early in their lives and keep to it. This, they argue, leads to a more satisfying working life.

To what extent do you agree with this view?

What other things can people do in order to have a satisfying working life?

It is true that some people know from an early age what career they want to pursue, and they are happy to spend the rest of their life to accomplish that goal. While this is true to some extent, I personally believe that there are the others who enjoying changing careers or seeking for job satisfaction in different ways.

On the one hand, having a defined career path can certainly lead to a joyful working life. Nowadays, almost parent guide their children from the young age to decide which jobs they want to do as adults and it gives them a great determination to work toward their goals and gradually accomplish them in the future. For example, a huge number of teenagers dream of becoming game developer, but to realize this ambition they need to invest a lot of time and effort to have a vast knowledge ranging from having expertise in computer programing languages such as C or C++ to manipulate 3d graphics competently. In my experience, there are very few successful game developer choosing to change their professions because of finding their job so rewarding and they do not want to waste time and effort after many year training hard.

On the other hand, people can find happiness in working life in different ways. Firstly, not everyone dreams of doing a particular job, and by doing a variety of professions is also extremely exciting, turning over a new leaf on a completely new career path can be a new experience and new working inspiration for them. Secondly, some people only consider job as a mean of earning money, and they are only satisfied if that job offer salary enough for enjoying their life outside work. Finally, happy working life if often a result of work conditions, rather than the career itself. Without a positive working atmosphere and some enthusiastic colleagues, we can not work as productively as possible. Having an inspirational boss sometimes make our working life more satisfying regardless of the career.

To some up, it can certainly be satisfying to pursue the same profession for the whole of one’s life, but this is by no mean the only route of fulfilment.