Some people believe that hobbies need to be difficult to be enjoyable. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some hobbies are relatively easy, while others present more of a challenging. In my opinion, I believe that both types of hobby can be fun, and I therefore completely disagree with the statement that simple hobbies will not provide us enough satisfaction.

On the one hand, many people enjoy easy hobbies. One example of an activity that is doable for most people is swimming. This hobby requires very little equipment, It is simple to learn and it is inexpensive. I remember learning to swim at my local swimming pool when I was a child, and it never felt like a demanding of challenging experience. Another hobby that I find easy and exited is listening to music. Nowadays, almost people have smartphones with internet connection every time so it does not take us too much time to select a favourite online playlist, simply put on earphone and feel the rhythms. In spite of being straightforward, listening to music is an enjoyable activity.

One the other hand, difficult hobbies can sometimes be more exciting. More challenging an activity is, more sense of satisfaction we receive when we successfully complete it. For example, playing perfectly music instrument such as guitar, piano requires high level of knowledge about music theory and a plenty of effort to put in. In my case, it took me around 2 years before I had an ability of playing some amateur songs but whenever I learn a new song and can perform it perfectly, I always feel happy. I think that many hobbies give us more pleasure when we reach a higher level of performance because the results are gradually better and the feeling of achievement is greater.

To sum up, difficult hobbies can be exciting and joyful, but simple hobbies can also give us pleasure for different reasons.