Explain some of the ways in which humans are damaging the environment. What can governments do to address these problems? What can individual people do?

Human are responsible for a variety of environmental problems, but we can take steps to reduce the damage that we are causing to our planet. This essay will discuss issues about environment and solutions that governments and each individual can take to resolve these worldwide problems.

Nowadays, two of the biggest threats to the environment are air pollution and waste. Gas emissions from factories and exhaust fumes from vehicles lead to global warming, which has a huge number of significant impacts on the Earth such as climate change, the rising of sea level and the melting of the polar ice caps. As the human population increased rapidly every year, we are also producing ever greater quantities of waste, which contaminates the earth and pollutes rivers and oceans.

Governments could certainly make more effort to reduce the air pollution through passing a new law to limit emissions from industrial areas or forcing companies to use renewable energy from solar, wind and water power. They also could impose “green taxes” on drivers and airlines companies. What they do will encourage citizens to use public transport and to use fewer flights aboard, thus reducing toxic emissions to environment.

Individuals should also take responsibility for affections which they have on our planet. Each household could have several rubbish bins to separate waste and we need to choose products with less packaging and recycle as much as possible. Most supermarkets now provide reusable bags for customers as well as collection banks for glass, paper and plastic bottles in their car park. By reusing and recycling, we can help to decrease amount of waste.

To sum up, both national governments and individuals must play their part in taking care of the environment for a greater future.