Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that videos games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

Some people think that spending time on playing computer games has a variety of useful benefits as being a tool for relaxing after hard-working time or providing plenty of knowledge about different aspects of life. While this is true to some extent, I personally believe that these games are more likely a harmful impact, especially for the young.

On the one hand, video games can be both entertaining and educational. Nowadays, along with the advancement there are a lot of AR games that can transport users, or gamers to a virtual world where they can directly interact to the in-game environment and start their own adventures as super heroes to save the world or pirates to hunt for treasures in the deep sea. From educational perspective, These games encourage imagination and creativity, as well as concentration, logical thinking and problem solving, all of which are useful skill outside game context. Additionally, It has been shown that stimulation games like driving motorbike or riding horse help users get used to these activities before experiencing in the real-world tasks.

Nevertheless, I would argue that these positive effects are outweighed by some crucial negative effects. Games can be highly addictive because every games have their own leaderboards that promote competition between players. As a result, if you want to take the lead you will need a long process trying hard to surpass one by one. Spending a lot of hours each day on entertaining in virtual world can have effects ranging from lack of sleep to bad effects on academic performance at school, when homework is sacrificed for a little more time on computer or console. Furthermore, playing video games too much will make people ignore their social activities in school or in company and spend less time with their family.

For the above reasons, it seems to me that the potential dangers of video games are more significant than the benefits these games give to us.