Many people go to university for academic study. More people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricans and plumbers.

To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

In this contemporary epoch, the phenomenon of flocking to tertiary institutions precipitates the severe shortage of skilled labourers. This culminates in the fact that governments should be held accountable for introducing on-the-job training for offspring in order to enhance national workforce. From my perspective, I completely agree with this view.

There are two reasons why I hold a firm belief that the authorities should place a premium on promoting occupational tuition. The first and perhaps the most persuasive element is that a great deal of practical knowledge can be derived from this kind of training. That learners partake in job-related education will not only bring about a wealth of experience appropriate to their future job assignment, but they will also be enabled to develop in a simulated work environment. As a result, they are utilized with hands-on skills which play critical roles in pursuing a successful career. Another fundamental consideration is that students who are financially disadvantaged can sign up for the courses with governmental support. Owing to the pressure for seeking human resources, the onus is on governments to partially or fully sponsor students, with a view to inspiring more youngsters to join in vocational training. Consequently, thanks to the alleviated financial problems, students can have the opportunities to be fully educated without worrying about money.

Some opponents may insist that only by acquiring academic education will students have more job prospects in the future. It is believed by a section of a public that people graduated from top-notch universities as well as achieved high qualifications are likely to find jobs straightforwardly and move up the career ladder. This argument is true to some extent; nevertheless, this justification does not take into account the fact that in the ever-growing society, the demand for qualified workers is increasing on an unprecedented scale, hence it is apparent that learners completed vocational training stand a high chance of joining the workforce immediately after. In other words, not only do they not need to compete with other apprentices, but they may also be recruited by many prestigious firms with handsome salaries.

In conclusion, from the aforementioned points, it is my reaffirmation that more inhabitants should be inclined to engage in vocational training, due to numerous benefits for individuals.