Many people have difficulty maintaining a healthy diet. What are the causes of this problem? How could it be solved ?

A lot of people find it challenging to eat nutritious meals. Busy schedules and easy access are some causes. Possible solutions such as increasing tax on unhealthy food and mandatory food breaks for workers will help to stop this trend.

Firstly, due to busy schedules, most people now spend longer hours at work, thus making it difficult to get healthy food and this has lead to an increase in non communicable diseases. Furthermore, easy accessibility of unhealthy foods has made its consumption on the high side. For example, In Lagos -one of the largest industrial cities in Africa, many people hawk carbonated drinks and junks which contain many calories, on the streets, thus making it a readily available option to satisfy their craving for food.

Some measures such as increasing tax payment on unhealthy food and mandatory food breaks are possible solutions to these problem. Increasing tax payment is an effective way of reducing consumption because this will discourage people from purchasing such foods and subsequently making healthier choices which is beneficial to them. Also, institutions and organizations should include food breaks like tea and lunch break in their routine. This is because, most people engage in unhealthy diet due to lack of breaks. If breaks are given, people can have time to go to restaurants or even eat home made meals. For example, a study conducted among health workers showed that most of them, especially doctors are at risk of developing life threatening diseases due to high consumption of unhealthy meals because of lack of breaks.

In conclusion, it is becoming challenging to sustain a balanced diet becaue of easy access and long working hours. The solutions to the problem may be to increase tax payment and also ensure food breaks in organisations.