Nowadays, many people choose to be self employed rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case?

What could be the disadvantages of being self employed?

These days, a lot of people prefer to be a freelance worker instead of working for a company or firm. This may be due to work flexibility and independence that comes with being self employed. It however has its drawbacks which are, financial insecurities and lack of employee benefits.

To begin with, most people have choosen to be their own boss because of work flexibility. This is because, they are able to work from their comfort zones at any time, without restrictions, thus increasing their productivity. This implies that they can focus on both house chores and at the same time official duties. To illustrate, a study carried out in the United States revealed that most people especially women, prefer to be freelance workers as it allows them to take care of their kids and also earn money. Furthermore, being self employed allows one to be independent. That is, individuals can take business risks and decisions without having to go through some cumbersome processes for approval. Consequently, leaving the fate of the company to one person.

Some of the drawbacks of being self employed include financial insecurities and lack of employee benefits. Finances are a major aspect of an organisation. Freelance companies are at risk of financial insecurities because of irregular income, and having to pay for the bills with or without generating profit. For example, Greenspring farms, a self owned farm in Nigeria, recently folded up due to poor management of funds as a result of more expenses than income. As a result, rendering many jobless. In addition, working for one's self deprives one of employee's benefits such as pensions and holiday allowance. Thus, making it impossible or difficult to enjoy these freebies.

In conclusion, many people are tending towards self employment because of work flexibility and independence. Financial insecurities and lack of employee benefits like pensions, holiday allowances are notable drawbacks