Many people join distance learning programmes (study materials, post, TV, Internet) and study at home, but some people think that it cannot bring the same benefit as attending colleges or universities does. Do you agree or disagree?

To keep abreast of the 21st century, a large number of people are seeking to receive tertiary education that distance-learning, state-of-the-art educational models have recently attracted much attention amongst students. Despite being a relatively fundamental alternative for some traditional ways to learn, some still argue that virtual education cannot achieve the same effect as the study from colleges or universities. In my opinion, I would advocate the mentioned idea for some particular reasons.

First of all, distance-learning requires the sufficient maturity and commitment from students who attend frequently. This is because, virtual education proceeds in the absence of teachers and tutors to boost our motivation for the continuation of the lessons that are solely suitable for self-control and independent people. Learning efforts tend to be disorganized and futile if a person does not have enough determination as well as the ability to direct themselves in an appropriate way which may appear to be synonymous with the young generation.

The second weakness of distance-learning is its over-dependence on the media. Needless to say, there are a variety of distractions from the Internet that can prevent people from completely and carefully concentrating on the online lessons including online games, youtube and so on. In addition to this, sitting in front of the computers for several hours in succession might result in boredom, fatigue and many other physical problems. Meanwhile, university campuses, in contrast, will leave no chance for this situation to occur under the supervision of teachers. Beside cautious monitoring, the constant interactions with classmates can raise their interest in their field of learning and improve several group skills which are obviously lacking during the period of virtual lessons.

In conclusion, under no circumstance can distance-learning be taken as a qualified substitute of traditional method of education due to the low motivation as well as the lack of direct connection with other people.