TOPIC 3: What are the benefits of requiring young people to serve the army? Does participation in community work qualify as an alternative?

In peacetime, the issue concerning whether military responsibility will remain to be an obligatory task for the young generation is recently open to debate. In my opinion, while military training has its own merits, some alternatives including social activities can be taken into account.

On the one hand, military training obviously brings a wide range of benefits to both nations and individuals. In terms of the whole country, the requirement for military duty for youngsters becomes a useful defense in the event of international conflicts. If countries do not brace themselves, they may succumb to unforeseeable attacks.. On a personal level, joining the army equips the young with some fundamental soft skills, especially a sense of responsibility. In such a strictly regulated environment, youngsters will hone self-control and time-management skills to complete their training tasks, otherwise they have to endure harsh punishments.

On the other hand, despite the mentioned advantages of joining the army, several alternatives seem appropriate including social work. Instead of armed fighting, governments should reach agreement on a peace treaty for the common good . Thus, several campaigns for educating the young about international relationships and also improving their negotiating skills are considered to be crucial. Through those social organizations, youngsters may become a potential diplomat in the future who can maintain the peaceful status of the world. A range of vital soft skills which can be derived from community work are worth considering. Needless to say, in recent years, a list of annoying problems such as unmanageable pollution and natural disasters has significantly emerged in our life. Hence, youngsters should be aware of such situations and apply themselves to some volunteer activities for the sake of protecting our living.

In conclusion, military requirements have considerable benefits for the young generation, but community work as an alternative does hold the same values that are worthy of attention. .