Many people make friends through social sites and chat rooms. Others believe that it is not a good idea to make friends without meeting them face to face. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your own opinion and relevant examples.

With the advancement in the communication technology, a large group of individuals prefer to make friends through social media sites. However, I strongly differ with making now friends on the internet. This essay will discuss the reasons why people would never make friends through internet.

To begin with, increasing in the number of internet crimes. Making online friends is increased the chances of a person to get trapped in the scams because the number of fake accounts. It would be very difficult for individuals to identify authenticity of accounts. Thus, many people are being a victim of honey trap. The criminal also demands the huge amount of money or misused the personal information of people. As per telecom ministry’s research on this topic, since last few years, the number of cyber-crimes has been increasing at an alarming rate.

Secondly, such a long-distance relationship would have detrimental effects on the family relationship. This is because, people who engage in such a type of relationship, they spent there most of the leisure time on mobile phone. As a result, they distracted from their families. According to research of family divorce by times of India in the year of 2016, more than one quarter of couples were believed that their family had split due to unethical friendship with unknown on the internet.

To conclude the essay, the main causes, why I vote against the making friends on social media site are the fear of to stuck in cyber-crime as well as it is also responsible for splitting families.