Many people make friends through social sites and chat rooms. Others believe that it is not a good idea to make friends without meeting them face to face. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your own opinion and relevant examples.

The question of whether social media is a good place to make friends often arises. Many argue that the rise of the internet provides us with endless online possibilities, whereas others feel that friendships are better made in person. I believe that online friendships have less value.

It is easy to understand why many advocate social networking sites as the best place to meet new people. In today’s hectic modern world, we have little time outside of work and family life to engage in social pursuits. The internet, however, is with us every moment of every day, connecting us to countless people all around the world, with somebody always available to chat or interact with. For many people, online communication is a lifeline to social interactions; those with disabilities who are limited in their mobility can engage in conversation with myriads of people and feel connected online. There are a multitude of websites the sole purpose of which is to connect you to new people. These platforms have groups or communities of like minded people and hence finding topics for conversation is quite easy.

With that said, the internet is not the best place to make true friendships. The persona we adopt online is very rarely an accurate reflection of who we are in person. Most people who meet the ‘friends’ they make online are often disappointed that the physical person is not the same as the avatar they put up online. This is because nearly everyone exaggerates aspects of their lives online and, as we usually form a bond over a particular interest, it is safe to assume that in person, our views on other matters may not be compatible. If you want to form strong friendships, meeting people face-to-face is of upmost importance, as this enables us to get a better picture of the person beneath their online façade and make decisions about our compatibility with them.

While it is true that the internet serves as an excellent platform for creating connections, true friendships can only truly be formed through proximity and personal contact, so if one is looking to make friends, doing so in person is the best option.