Many people make friends through social sites and chat rooms. Others believe that it is not a good idea to make friends without meeting them face to face. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your own opinion and relevant examples.

Social media plays an important role in our life, it allows us to make friends online through apps or chat rooms. This is a popular way to expand our relationship, but others think that we have to meet face to face to build a friendship. I strongly disagree with this statement due to some reasons.

First, making friends online helps us connect with people around the world so that we can broaden our horizons. How amazing if we can talk, and text to foreign friends, we don’t need to meet directly but still can make good friends. For example, I am using Hellotalk, an app for learning English by talking to foreigners. All the friends I’ve met there are really friendly, they teach me English and tell me stories about their country, and culture. I really appreciate that, and I feel that I am living in the second world.

Second, when you feel lonely or bored, but don’t have anyone to talk with, you can go online and find a friend for a chitchat. I believe that there is always someone, who is willing to talk to you. In addition, if you are shy to talk to strangers, you should search for an online friend because he or she doesn’t know who you are and you do as well, so they won’t judge or complain about you. You can easily share your joy or sadness with them to release stress, they would cheer you up. Furthermore, you even can get well with them.

To sum up, meeting face to face is not always a possible idea to make friends. Making friends through social media is a better choice due to its benefits that you will have more friends from different countries so you can learn a lot from them, and you always have someone there to share your stories, your feelings comfortably.