Many people now undertake extreme activities, from hang-gliding to mountain climbing.

Why do people risk their lives in this way, and do you think this is a good trend?

Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

A large number of people engage in seemingly dangerous activities, such as bungee jumping and mountain climbing. This essay will analyse the reasons behind this phenomenon and illuminate my viewpoint as to whether this phenomenon represents an auspicious or ominous tendency.

There are mainly two reasons for people to participate in such sports. The dominant reason is that people need to alleviate their tiredness and pressure deriving from work and study by taking part in exciting activities that help them temporarily get away with the sense of boredom and anxiety. The activities fulfilling this purpose are extreme sports that challenge people's athleticism and courage, thus giving people a sense of excitement and satisfaction. Another factor driving people to participate in extreme sports is that participants are protected by rigorous safety measures, as exemplified by high-quality equipment and well-trained staff members monitoring the operation of such activities. Given such all-round safety measures, people may have fewer risks of injuries.

As far as I am concerned, I opine that this phenomenon represents a positive trend since it helps to reduce people's stress and boredom, and is not as dangerous as it seems in light of the reassuring safety measures. Admittedly, participation in extreme sports still causes concerns among people who are not familiar with such sports and therefore, worry about the safety issue. However, these concerns may disappear as people increasingly understand the high level of safety protection in extreme sports.

To sum up, participation in extreme sports is driven by the need for alleviating negative emotions and satisfactory safety protection. Personally, I hold that this phenomenon represents an auspicious trend.