Some people think that the most important thing about being rich is it gives a person the opportunity to help other people.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Some people hold that the priority of wealthy people is to help other people who are relatively disadvantaged. As far as I am concerned, this is a groundless standpoint.

Admittedly, wealthy people are frequently asked to offer aid to those suffering poverty and to help the whole society achieve common prosperity, which becomes a conventional rule imposed on rich people. Such a conventional rule, however, may not suggested in any formal legislation. Therefore, from the perspective of rich people, providing help to other people represents merely an expectation of the general public rather than the standard of legality. In other words, wealthy people do not necessarily engage in philanthropy. In addition, the obligation for rich people to help the impoverished population, if coming into effect, may risk violating wealthy people's right in handling their own assests. Such violation of basic human rights runs counter to our ethical standards and thus, should be avoided.

Another point that should be taken into consideration is that the disadvantaged population may not necessarily seek help from wealthy people. Instead, they can be gain support from governments that are obliged to provide pension to people under poverty and bridge the wealth gap. Additionally, unlike philanthropists who donate as much as they want, governments tend to carry out meticulous investigations on the extent of poverty for each family, along with flawless data analysis, and then make a rational decision on the amount of pension provided to each family, thus decreasing the possibility of unfair allocation of pension.

To sum up, it is inappropriate to opine that the most important task for rich people is to help other people.