Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced films. Why could this be? Should governments give more financial support to local film industries?

It is true that in some countries people prefer foreign films rather than native ones. There could be several reasons why this is the case, and in my opinion governments should promote local film-making by subsidizing the industry.

There are various reasons why people find foreign films more absorbing than the films that are produced in their countries. Firstly, there are huge budgets in certain countries which are spent to make visual effects, fanciful action, fantastic music, shoot scenes in spectacular locations and also to use high technologies. Hollywood blockbuster like ‘Game of thrones’ or the James bond films are examples of such productions. Secondly, these films are made by reputed actors and actresses are star and these films are made by the highly accomplished producers and directors that would attract people to them. Third, foreign films have more genres such as science fiction, supernatural, psychological thriller and so on…. The other reason is, people can learn foreign languages and improve their skills, for example watching ‘Friends’ is a good source of learning English and popular entertainment by many people in IRAN.

In my opinion governments should support local film industries financially. In every country there may be talented film makers who just need to be given the opportunity to prove themselves. By investing money in local film industry, local film makers can provide equipment for making high quality films and get the chance to be seen. Because some Movies are reflection of culture and customs in society; with making good films we can export our movies to overseas and perhaps even get a rise in tourist numbers. Also to teach social skills to people movies are an effective way in the society. If governments help with film-making costs, they will see the increase in employment in the film industry and incomes from film sales.

In conclusion, I believe that increased financial support could help to raise the quality of locally made films, and consequently the listeners, and eventually it could be a source of income for the government.