Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced films. Why could this be? Should governments give more financial support to local film industries?

In the modern world film industry provides a tremendous service in the arena of entertainment and education. However loads of people adore films made by exterior directors and dislike national movies thro their law quality. It mostly occurs because of the modest budgets that are provided for shooting a movie, as authorities prefer to spare.

To begin with, most people would accept that any kind of film demands great money spending for stuff, famous actors, costumes or equipment. Local film companies as a rule are just starting their work and therefore cannot pretend to stable financial support from the government or sponsors. For instance, in Russia there are more than 50 movie companies and only 1 of them, Fond kino, is popular and well-known in Asia and part of Europe. So, no one wants to watch unknown and law quality films.

Another thing to be considered is that people, especially teenagers, strive to learn and watch something new, while local films are often of the same type and do not show anything fresh and modern. Foreign movies allow a person to plunge into the atmosphere of another country with its special language and lifestyle. For example, according to the statics more than 30 percent of Russian teens adore Japanese anime. Hence, films made by people’s compatriots are not able to interest people making similar films.

All in all, it is clear that local industry needs more government’s sponsorship, to attract more persons by the quality and novel plot. Famous directors do not need money help, while young and starting ones are not able to to provide the film shooting themsleves. For example, Hollywood directors like Stiven Spielberg or James Cameron do not need money, while young and talented films makers often leave this area as no one wants to sponsor them. Consequently, as much as possible directors should be funded to shoot qualitative films to make this profession popular and prestigious.

To sum up, nowadays local film industry is in crisis because of the absence of good sponsorship and government’s support. If the authorities understand this problem, film industry will sharply grow up.