Many people say that the internet is the most important invention ever. Do you agree or disagree with this and if not, what do you believe to be more important. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

For decades, the Internet has built its way into our daily lives and proven to be an indispensable invention. For this reason, some people think the Internet is the most influential human-made invention in history. Personally, I am of the opinion that the creation of the internet, without doubt, is important to mankind's development but definitely shouldn’t be considered as the most crucial invention of all time.

To begin with, there is no denying that the invention of the internet had a remarkable influence on the evolution of humans and the world as a whole. Regardless of the fact that the internet was only invented in 1983, less than 50 years from now, it has transformed our society drastically. Apparently, a myriad of jobs, devices and definitions were born owing to the Internet. A case in point is the transformation of the mail delivery process.The modification of the mail delivery process is one example. It is evident that, following the invention of the Internet and the presence of e-mail, most letters were no longer delivered by post office or telegram, but rather over the internet. Moreover, ample jobs like programmer, web developer, software engineer were also created thanks to the internet. Furthermore, the Internet has paved the way for the development of social media, which has proven to be extremely significant these days. For all intents and purposes, the Internet has reshaped the culture.

However, I believe that it would be superficial to consider the Internet as the most vital man made creation. According to HomoSapiens, four major revolutions in human evolution have occurred: the Cognitive, Agricultural, Industrial, and Technical Revolutions. The Internet era belongs to the last one, which is where we are now. In other words, prior to the invention of the internet, along with history, a plethora of other crucial innovations such as fire, paper, gunpowder, and electricity, to mention a few, were born. The internet would not have existed, to a greater or smaller extent, if it had not been for the aforementioned preceding inventions.

Although in certain ways, the internet poses great influence on communication and educational systems, I am convinced that it is merely one of the most important innovations, not the most important.