Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behaviour. Others disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences.

In today’s world, with advancement in transportation, more and more people can travel abroad, which raises a protracted debate with regard to the question of whether tourists should adapt to the culture of the country they visit. Some people think that it is visitors’ responsibility to abide by the host country’s regulations and traditions while others believe that countries should allow foreign newcomers to be the way they are used to. Personally, I agree with both sides and the reasons will be discussed in this essay.

To commence with, on the one hand, adapting to the host nation’s culture will definitely benefit tourists. First, traveling and immersing into a totally different culture is the golden opportunity for visitors to gain firsthand experience and enlarge their range of knowledge. Second, by understanding the local norms and traditions they can avoid unpleasant situation, which may be caused by misunderstandings. Moreover, being able to adapt to the culture will not only prevent newcomers from clashing with local inhabitants but also help them blend well with the local community and develop internationally harmonious relationships.

Furthermore, apart from enriching a person’s travel experience, following cultural practices is compulsory for tourists in some countries. In some parts of the world where cultural rules are fixed, visitors are mandatory to comply with the laws, otherwise, they may be chargeable. For example, in Singapore, it is illegal to chew gum in public places and even tourists can be charged a large amount of money if they break the rule. Another country that applies strict punishment to visitors is North Korea. If you intentionally take photos of military areas in this country, there is a likelihood that you will be criminalized and may have to serve a custodial sentence.

However, on the other hand, it is unrealistic to make people forgo their own customs and traditions while traversing to other countries. Actually, in this time of globalization, embracing cultural diversities from around the world will enrich the host country’s cultures. It is obviously beneficial for local people when they can build strong relationships and learn about cultural beauties from the foreigners. Moreover, becoming more open to different cultures of newcomers will make a country more attractive to tourists, which is profitable for its tourism industry and financial status.

In conclusion, I strongly take the view that both the host country and tourists should respect and accept cultural differences. It is a win-win situation in this economically challenging time because visitors can enhance their travel experience by adapting to local traditions while the country’s economy can gain more profit from tourism.