Some people believe today that everyone has a right to access to the Internet and that governments should provide this access for free. Other people believe that access to the internet is not a right and should be paid for like other services.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion

The Internet has proven to be indispensable in this increasingly digital world. However, in many low and middle income countries, not everyone can afford the access to the Internet, which raises a question of who is responsible for the access fee. Some people argue that the costs spent on the Internet should be fully subsidized by the government whilst there are others who think individuals should use their own money to pay for Internet access. In order to offer an elaborate insight, both perspectives will be discussed below.

On the one hand, there is no denying that access to the Internet should be available to everyone on the grounds that it provides wide-ranging benefits. In terms of education, the Internet has paved the way for online learning programs, which means people with marginalized and disadvantaged backgrounds such as the underemployed, rural residents and the like can take classes remotely and thus, can expand their opportunities. Another justification is that equipment required to access the Internet like computers and smartphones is beyond many family financial status. For instance, a majority of tribal people living in the North West of Vietnam can barely make ends meet, let alone owning a modern electrical device for wireless connection. For this reason, it is considered by some that the government should subsidize the purchases of equipment and provision of infrastructure so that the Internet could be available to marginalized people.

However, I would agree with those who believe that individuals should be charged for using the Internet. Firstly, as with the development of technology, the Internet has evolved from a luxury to a necessity, just like food and clothes, which means it merits being paid by users. Secondly, the fee of Internet access, clearly, costs a huge proportion of the national budget. In other words, some nations may fall into revenue deficit due to the large amount of money spent on Internet access whereas there are ample other problems that need to be financially funded such as starvation, healthcare, education, to name but a few. Furthermore, even when Internet access is free and available to everyone, many people in remote areas still don't know how to utilize the Internet yet. In this case, the government's subsidy seems to have counter-effects and in all probability, the final result may not be equivalent to the enormous amount of governmental funding.

All in all, although there are plausible reasons to believe that citizens’ availability to the Internet is government responsibility, it is my personal view that this is not a one-size-fits-all measure. Instead, the government could take alternative approaches such as appointing teachers and volunteers to rural areas to specifically instruct local people how to use electrical devices effectively and how to derive benefits from the Internet.