Many people say that we have developed in to a “throw-away society” because we are filling up our environment with so many plastic bags and rubbish that we cannot fully dispose of. Why does this happen and what problems might this lead to?

In the recent years, the proliferation of single-used products has become a major concern worldwide. Despite its sizable influence, many individuals have not yet realized the seriousness of this matter. It is the goal of this essay to point out some primary factors contributing to this phenomenon and the dire repercussions on not only the society but also the environment.

People should first recognize that the increment in garbage is a natural result of the social and economic development. Unethical businesses are the main creators of industrial waste, including plastic and other durable and non-biodegradable rubbish. People’s quest for a better standard of living gives them incentives to manufacture excessive amount of consumer goods at less cost and disregard the potential impact on environment. This practice can be exemplified by the disposable tableware used by fast food restaurants, which is considered as economically advantageous. By using disposable items instead of re-usable ones, restaurants can avoid labor expense incurred in clearing tables and cleaning used tableware.

As a consequence, this practice inflicts severe damage on the environment. These short lived products will be constantly ending up in trash bin, which later cause landfills to become overloaded with massive piles of garbage. And while only a small proportion of which is disposed of properly, the rest of the garbage, usually non-recyclable, is either buried underground or burnt. This will eventually contaminate soil and water source, leading to environmental degradation. Not only that, plastic waste crisis will do more than just pollute. It poses serious environmental danger to human and wildlife health. Microplastics or larger plastic pieces breaking into smaller fragments can be found existing in water and food, which small animals or even human might consume. For example, birds that go to the ocean for food may mistake floating plastic debris for fish and feed it to their offspring, resulting in their inevitable deaths.

In conclusion, this so-called ‘throwaway society’ is a result of economic and consumerism factors and is taking a massive toll on the environment. Governments should do more to approach this problem by instituting bans on single-use plastics like straws and bags.