Many people think that countries should import less food and produce more for their population. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a school of thought that maximizing domestic food production to meet the population’s demand is what a country need to prioritize, and the restriction of exotic food consumption is necessary accordingly. I do not totally agree with this opinion.

When it comes to local food business, I strongly support promoting these activities for two compelling reasons. From the nutritional perspective, meats, fruits or vegetables which are produced within consumers’ proximity are generally more beneficial to their health with larger diversity and higher quality of nutrients. This is due to the fact that they are normally fresh and do not experience lengthy transporting and preserving period in comparison with similar products imported from oversea regions. From an economic standpoint, this enhancement means the encouragement to a nation’s agricultural and food exchange practices. The result would be economic development in many areas, especially in rural and mountainous ones.

However, my agreement does not cover the limitation of importing food from other nations. Individuals would certainly be the beneficiary of the increasing food diversity as they could get access to a wider range of tastes if the availability of food products from different countries is not restricted. Japan clearly typifies the case. Despite arguably having a worldwide reputation of similar dishes, its citizens really enjoy many types of seafood from different countries like Vietnamese shrimps or Brazilian salmon. In addition, nations should open their market to outside food producers if they demand equal chances to export their agricultural products in the age of globalization. This would be attributed to their overall economic progress and also be the solution for a potential scenario of having food production outweighing consumption domestically.

In conclusion, my opinion is not against importing food, but for reinvigorating the local supply without making any negative effects on the distribution of foreign food products to benefit both individuals as well as the economy.