The range of technology available to people is increasing the gap between the rich and the poor. Others think it has an opposite effect. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

When it comes to the influence of technology, there is no consensus on whether it is widening or tackling wealth disparity in modern society. In this essay, both sides, including my viewpoint on the negative effects, will be articulated.

It is understandable why some people agree with the idea that the gap between rich and poor individuals could be mitigated by technology. They often explain that the cost of accessing and using modern technological equipment or services is becoming more affordable than ever before, allowing the majority of the population, including the poor, to have equal chances of making business. Therefore, social mobility is more feasible nowadays than it was in the age of unpopularity of technology many decades ago, meaning the possibility for under-privileged citizens to accumulate more wealth is higher.

However, my argument about the negative side of the spectrum is that technology is actually worsening income inequality for several solid reasons. The reasoning about technology giving valuable opportunities to the poor might sound convincing, but it excludes the way of using technology. Impoverished people are more likely to be low-skilled and not highly illiterate, resulting in not having sufficient ability to apply technology in their work. High-income individuals, however, because of being better educated and having more technological skills, tend to earn more profits thanks to more effective utilization of technology. This difference could be exemplified by the internet, on which exorbitant business activities are typically established by those who are from affluent family and have received tertiary education on business-related fields from prestigious universities. For those reasons, technology should be seen as a significant culprit of wealth inequality in contemporary society.

In conclusion, although it is reasonable to state that technology could make positive contribution to wealth distribution nowadays, I strongly believe that it is doing harm to social inequality in economic terms.