Many young people now know more about international movie and pop stars than famous people in the history of their own country.

What are the reasons? What can be done to make young people interested famous people in the history of their own country.

There has been a growing concern about the fact that global stars from the entertainment industry are ubiquitous among young generation nowadays while it is not the case for historical figures in their country. This is due to the way the education system and the media work nowadays, but right efforts are needed to make positive changes in this situation.

There are two main reasons for the phenomenon of the youth's biased awareness, coming from how young people are exposed to famous people nowadays. About the successful individuals from the past, young people mostly know about them via traditional lessons in school. These learners often have to memorize historical knowledge under the pressure of passing certain examinations; therefore, they often forget everything about history once achieving their desirable scores. Celebrities, however, are often much more exciting with beautiful appearance and attractive performing skills, so they could get absolute attention easily from young audience by satisfying their entertaining demands. As a result, famous movie and pop stars are undeniably popular among this specific group of the population.

To make young people more interested in historical individuals, several strategies could be applied. From educational perspective, teachers should motivate their students to learn history better by making them understand the importance of knowing this subject as well as the excitement people often have when talking about famous people from the past. From the entertaining point of view, the government should prioritize producing songs and movies about historical figures over what the entertainment industry has done for years, to ensure that more young people would be aware of those who made significant contribution to the country in the past. For example, in Vietnam, the government often supports many directors, both spiritually and financially, in making movies about famous kings throughout the country's history.

In conclusion, because the two key players in directing young people attention toward pop and movie stars are education and the media, we need feasible solutions to make these citizens more knowledgeable about famous historical individuals accordingly.