Throughout history, people have dreamed perfect society, but they have not agreed what an ideal society is.

What do you think the most important elements to have perfect society in modern world? How people can achieve an ideal society?

Each person holds a different view on how an ideal society should be. In my opinion, an ideal society is the society where everyone who lives in it behaves with pure altruism. To achieve such thing, we have to pay more attention to the education that young children receive both at home and at school.

We are facing many crises, be it severe environmental degradation or widespread poverty, and unfortunately most of them arise due to our selfishness. When we truly care about the livelihood of our future generation, there will be less damage done to the environment to justify economic progress. Or when we are aware of the suffering of those who are living in poor, unsanitary conditions on our doorstep and genuinely want to offer help, there will be more charity and less poverty. We can deal with our own problems and build an ideal society if our actions are driven by pure altruism.

It is, in fact, extremely difficult, if not impossible, to create a society where everyone behaves with true selflessness. However, we can make a paradigm change to our today’s society through innovating children’s early education. A sense of altruism emerges during childhood and can be developed through years of schooling. Parents can nurture altruism in their children at an early age by educating them about sharing and giving. This may greatly affect the trajectory of a child’s personality development which can later be reinforced by education at school. As a result, that child is likely to become an altruistic individual when he reaches adulthood.

In conclusion, I believe the most important element of an ideal society is altruism and we have to focus on nurturing our children’s altruistic behavior from an early age if we wish to build such society.