Many people think that mobile phones should be banned in public places such as libraries, shops and public transport. Do you agree or disagree?

Whether cell phones should be banned in public places has always been at the center of discussions. Some people welcome cell phones, arguing that phones are quite an aid for them while others are concerned the rings and buzzes of phones leave those public places unbearable. From my perspective, cell phones should be allowed in public sites.

Firstly, mobile phones have become part of people’s lives which are too integrated to decouple them from people even in public places. Mobile phones nowadays function quite crucially in every aspect of people’s lives. They work as a connection between people and their jobs, friends, and families. If people are denied the freedom to use their phones in such public places as museums, libraries, or the like, they might miss some important information. Information is important. Examples abound, including a businessman always having to be in tune with market changes, and Missing out on a piece of information might cost him a chance to promote a deal that ends up quite a fortune. Therefore, it is not feasible to require people to divorce from their phones even in public places.

Secondly, mobile phones could be set to be mute to keep quietness in public places. Understandably, some people have concerns that a phone disrupts the great atmosphere of a public place. For example, the sudden rings or buzzes of a phone ruin a mood to appreciate a film in a theatre or the attention to crack a math problem in a library. However, a cure for what afflicts those people is not to ban cellphones. Instead, concerns can be easily solved by public places setting strict rules. Rules include every electronic device should be muted or a talk on the phone should be conducted in certain regions of a public place. When a cellphone is muted, it is still functioning. Therefore people could still feel connected to the world and would not miss any information.

In conclusion, it is not practical to prohibit cell phones in all public places. Some strategies can be applied to mitigate people’s concern about the inconvenience that cell phones might cause to them.