Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the government rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Whether scientific research ought to be carried out and reined in by the government instead of private companies has always been found at the center of discussion. While some people hold positive attitude, saying that it is not fair to deny the freedom to allow private companies to carry out scientific research, I still think scientific research should be controlled by government.

Firstly, scientific research conducted by the government rather than private companies ensures it is in tune with moral standards and does not risk hurting well-being of whole human society. More often than not the results yielded by scientific research would make great impact on every aspect of people’s lives. This saying got powerful backings, evidence A is microchips. With the advancement of microchips, some computer-related industries gain momentum, benefiting human society. In contrast, some outcome of research might be a curse to human, nuclear booms being one of the examples. Since there is no sure thing about what impact that scientific research will have on our society, it should be the government which would take its citizen’s safety and happiness over other things to tame all the scientific research. However, private companies might not hold such social responsibilities as their priority and their scientific fruit might lead human being into unintended territory. For instance, a gene expert in China from a private company knocked off AIDS genes passed by their parents for two baby girls, which is not allowed by international rules related to gene experiment. This event stirred a wide range of reviews internationally since what he did provoked a great concern among society.

Secondly, it is the government instead of private companies that would secure financial support to conduct scientific research, the result of which might pave way to a better life for people. Government, to most extent, gain more confidence and trust than private companies. Moreover, government boast the talent pool where those genius would weave their magics to work out great scientific fruit. Such characteristics and merits of a government allow it to get ventures from investors. With the financial support, scientific research would be conducted smoothly. However, the other side of the picture is quite opposite, private companies would never compete with government about attracting the talents and high level of reliability. Therefore, their experiments might end up with being a pipe dream.

In conclusion, it is government which should take scientific research in charge rather than private enterprises. Government would closely supervise the scientific projects, making sure they would not jeopardize the public and it would have more ventures to run those projects, which, to some extent, will yield more scientific fruits to benefit society as a whole.