Many people think technological devices such as smartphones, tablets and mobile phones bring more disadvantages than advantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays there is an opinion that technological progress, especially modern gadgets, is more negative for humanity than positive. The question regarding modern devices has become bona-fide high-debatable in the media and in different internet based communities. I fully disagree with this statement and believe that modern technologies are a boon for society.

Firstly, the internet and wireless connection made a breakthrough on all aspects of humanity’s life providing rapid information searching and the opportunity to contact somebody on the other side of the globe. This means that today people do not have to waste a lot of time waiting until the letter is delivered or to spend hours in libraries digging through books trying to find desirable information.

For example, the research carried out by the United Nations Organisation in 2019 demonstrated that 90% of respondents believe that gadgets enhance people’s life quality and decrease the amount of time spent on finding information.

Secondly, the entertainment part of the process was improved because of development in the field of IT. Edge-cutting discoveries in the technological sphere have given humanity the great opportunity not only to learn something new, but to relax and let the brain rest too. Tons of films, books, music tracks can be placed in the compact and handy device which easily fits in jeans’ pockets.

For instance, a survey conducted by Moscow State University in 2020 showed that nowadays the majority of citizens prefer to relax at home, watching TV, playing video games or surfing the internet. In other words, that means that in today’s realities it is not necessary to go out to some public places to entertain, everything became possible in one tiny box with the touchscreen.

In conclusion, I totally disagree with the statement that modern technologies such as smartphones, television etc are playing a key role in society’s life today and are completely safe for humanity when used reasonably and as a necessity.