Many people today are worried about the large quantities of waste produced by ordinary households. What problems are caused by household

waste, and what solutions may be possible in both the short and the long term?

It is true that enormous amount of waste is generated by people. This certainly has caused varieties of difficulties and several means should be found to address this issue which will be discussed in this essay.

Starting with the problems, one undeniable issue is environmental pollution. Many cities especially in poorer part of the world lack essential facilities to collect and dump the garbage. As a result, the trash will transform the expected residential place into slums in which contagious disease and illness agents will grow. Furthermore, an increase of waste requires more resources like workforce, landfill areas and technologies to rectify the problem which in turn consumes insurmountable amount of funding, the money potentially could be used for more fruitful alternatives like education. A third danger arises from the leakage of drain water of the landfills into water reservoir that post a dire threat to humans and wildlife.

Turning onto the solutions, firstly, citizens should be informed of the consequences of their waste production and made accessible to use biodegradable products like paper and cloth bags instead of plastic ones for their purchases which are more environmentally-friendly. This will mitigate the problem to some extent. Secondly, recycling has always been an alternative to reduce the load of landfills in addition to decreasing the need for raw materials for industries. Finally, a share amount of waste can be processed into compost, a rich fertilizer and medium for florists, gardener and home flower growers.

In summary, while we are faced with many obstacles by waste production, various strategies can be applied to put right the issue.