Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favor of them because of their benefits to humanity.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion

It is true that testing on animals has been one of the highly controversial issues that attract people’s attention in today’s world. While it can be argued that these tests should be prohibited, there are some people who strongly advocate that they bring a lot of benefits to human-beings. To my opinion, I totally agree with the former point of view. This essay will discuss both sides of the debate.

On the one hand, there are some arguments in favor of the idea that the pros animal testing bring to our life overshadow the cons. Firstly, experiments on animals have made a great contribution to life-saving cures and treatments. It is supposed that most medical breakthroughs in the last 100 years have resulted directly from researches using animals. Secondly, animals are appropriate research subjects because they are similar to humans in many aspects. This can be illustrated by the example that all mammals including humans are descended from common ancestors and have the same set of organs which functions in the same way. As humans and animals are biologically similar, they are both susceptible to condition and diseases such as cardiovascular diseases, cancer and diabetes…

On the other hand, there are some reasons to support the statement that government should impose law on using animals as experiment subjects. The opponents of animal experimentation consider these experiments are cruel and inhumane because animal welfare is as vital as medical research. For instance, a great many animals used in cosmetic experiments are deprived of food and water in a prolonged period of physical restraint. Another issue is that nowadays there are numerous alternative testing methods which can take over from using animals. For examples, artificial human skin made from sheet of human skin cells planted in plastic tubes and wells can create more reliable as well as effective result than animal skin.

In conclusion, the above mentioned facts have created a dilemma when people evaluate the impact of this issue, and it has still sparked controversy in recent years. As far as I am concerned, I put more emphasis on the idea that animal testing has to be forbidden. People should have further consideration on this issue