Many people want their country to host an international sporting event. Others believe that international sporting events bring more problems than benefits. Discuss both view and include your opinion, supported by examples.

From the past to now, sporting events regularly are followed by sporting fans. Because of the enthusiastic support of spectators over the world, a lot of nations compete with each other to become a host. Although there are a variety of benefits, I believe that drawbacks to the host are more obvious.

It is evident that the home country will benefit from organizing big sporting festivals. Firstly, economy of this nation will develop better. Each sporting event can sell millions of plane tickets. For instance, Summer Olympic 2016 had sold two millions tickets before this sporting event occurred, and the price of tickets is from 11.5 USD to 1,318 USD. Secondly, tourist destinations will attract a lot of visitors. When certain nation becomes a host, the image of this country will be advertised on the internet, newspapers and TV. As a result, people will be curious about this country, and they can travel here or after finishing festivals, they will be here for some days to visit this place. Finally, the government of host country has to invest money on building infrastructures so that it can serve for sporting purposes well, and after that, its residents can also use it for their life.

In spite of these arguments, I assume that the host has to suffer a lot of drawbacks from these events. Initially, the environment is polluted seriously. On sporting days, the number of people of host country increases, so there are a lot of transports on highways and railway. As a result, carbon emission rises significantly. Moreover, there are a lot of trash left after festival finishes, and the government has to invest a lot of money to collect them. Besides, it is easy for being in debt as host finances a lot of money to build and prepare for the festival. The government needs to erect more enormous museums, equip modern tools for competitions as well as conduct infrastructures such as streets and hotels. For example, Greece had to suffer the large amount of debt, particularly 50,000 euros and it spent 36 years returning a sum of money. Last but not least, some infrastructures cannot serve locals after the festival finishes. It is so wasteful and useless. For instance, some places built to serve for mountain biking competition, but after that, they are not made use of reasonably. Therefore, they are destroyed day by day.

In conclusion, although sporting events bring positive signals for host countries, I convinced that the drawbacks are more serious. In the future, sports will be more and more expanded, and hosts have to set better strategies to limit disadvantages.