Many processed foods and ready-made meals contain preservatives and chemicals. what are the advantages to this? do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Preventing the growth of microorganisms and prolonging storage time are the reasons why preservatives and chemicals are included in food manufacturing process. Meanwhile, it brings disadvantages such as causing disease disorders and behavioral changes in children.

Many food makers mix preservatives and chemicals in food for reasons of microorganisms and long-time saving. That is to say, food spoilage bacteria needs a source of food and water, as well as a suitable pH and temperature to grow. Furthermore, if the growth of microorganisms can be controlled, then food can be stored for a long time compared to not using these ingredients, causing food to spoil quickly and becoming of poor quality. For instance, in making peanut butter, these foods still require natural preservatives such as sugar or salt to keep them fresh and can be consumed for a long time.

Some of the demerits include chemicals and preservatives in the process of making food is that it can cause various diseases and change children's behavior. That is to say, the content contained in chemicals and preservatives such as Sodium nitrate, if consumed it can cause diseases such as cancer and respiratory. However, if the content is not consumed continuously and in a not long period of time, then this is not harmful to health. Although not being dangerous if the right dose, consuming chemicals and preservatives can change behavior in children to become hyperactive. Evidence suggests that, as much as 56% of children's food at school contains harmful substances such as formalin which is harmful to children's growth.

In conclusion, incorporating preservatives and chemicals into food is to make it durable and inhibit the growth of fungi. I believe that negative impacts will be much more, such as causing disease and changing children's behavior. Where possible, food makers must follow the rules that have been set in limiting the use of preservatives and chemicals.