In many societies, foraging has been a leisure activity enjoyed by some individuals. Foraging involves searching and gathering wild food resources such as fruits, nuts, mushrooms, and edible plants. Proponents argue that foraging is not only a recreational pursuit but also a way to connect with nature and promote sustainability. However, critics argue that foraging can have negative impacts on the environment and may not be a suitable leisure activity for everyone.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Write at least 250 words.

In recent year, foraging becomes not only a leisure activity for people to find balances and to escape from daily exhausted life but also a way to reconnect with nature and wild life. In contrast, critics do not support that statement, and foragers are thought to affect seriously on the wild environment. I definitely agree with the first statements, and this essay will discuss both pros and cons of foraging.

On the one hand, foraging is claimed to have various positive effects. According to the UK’s research, foraging is significantly changing people life, and many people have successfully found a relax way to re-charge their flat moods during the Covid-19 pandemic, by just simply spending time walking through the forest and searching edible plants likes: nettles, berries, mushrooms, etc. In addition, since these foods are totally free, this activity also cut down the price for food monthly during the high inflation and lack of food period. Moreover, foragers argue that this type of food refers to "superfood", which contains high nutrition, vitamins and is fresh. Consequently, people stand on the other side have contrasted look at this activity.

On the other hand, these pack of activities (find out edible food, and gain it) are thought to be harmful for the environment. Critics argue that foraging is devastating the wild life and ecosystem. From my perspective, I don’t agree that too much people forage will make a negative impact; in fact, foraging might not rapidly develop in a short period of time that we will lose control. Firstly, in Vietnam and in other big Asia’s cities (such as Ho Chi Minh city, Hanoi, etc.) there are not many forests or places where are suitable for citizens to forage. In facts, when people want to forage, they must go to the countryside or botanical garden, which is too far away; for that reason, I agree that foraging just suitable for some people who are active, have time and right place. Imagine that you have only one or two day at the weekend to compensate for the loss energy after a whole long, hard-working week at your company, most people will spend that time to take a long sleep and laze around. But these people cause no damage to this activity.

In conclusion, foraging is a helpful activity for people who’d loved to balance their life, and surrounded by nature, I will always support this activity.