In many societies foraging has been a leisure activity enjoyed by some individuals Foraging involves searching and gathering wild food resources such as fruits nuts mushrooms and edible plants Proponents argue that foraging is not only a recreational purs

In recent years, foraging becomes not only a leisure activity for people to find balances and to escape from daily exhausted life but also a way to reconnect with nature and wildlife. In contrast, critics do not support that statement, and foragers are thought to affect seriously on the wild environment. I definitely agree with the first statements. This essay will discuss both pros and cons of foraging, plus support the first point.

On the one hand, foraging is claimed to help people reconnect with savage nature and maintain balance. According to the UK’s research, scavenging is significantly changing people life, and many people have successfully found a de-stressed way to re-charge their flat moods during the Covid-19 pandemic, by just simply spending time walking through the forest and searching edible plants likes: nettles, berries, mushrooms, etc. In addition, since these foods are completely free, this activity also cut down the price for food monthly during the high inflation and lack of food period. Moreover, foragers argue that this type of food refers to "superfood", which contains high nutrition, vitamins and is fresh. Consequently, people stand on the other side have contrasting look at this activity.

Critics contend that foraging is devastating the wild life and ecosystem, but I disagree that too much people forage will make negative impacts; in fact, foraging might not rapidly develop in a short period of time that we will out of control. Firstly, in Hanoi and in other big Asia’s cities, there are not many forests or places suitable for citizens to scavenge. Indeed, when people want to forage, they must go to the countryside or botanical garden, which is too far away; for that reason, I think that foraging just suitable for some people who are active, have time and right place. Imagine that you only have one or two day at the weekend to compensate for the loss energy after a whole long, hard-working week at your company, most people will spend that time to take a long sleep and laze around. But these people cause no threat to this activity.

In conclusion, foraging is a helpful activity for people who’d loved to maintain stability life, and surrounded by nature. I will always support this activity.