Many students choose to study at colleges and universities that are far away from the places where they grew up. Do the benefits outweigh the drawbacks?

Studying at colleges or universities which are far from students’ homes is a trend in this time. Although having an undergraduate life near house is convenient, the independence while staying far from home is much better.

Living far from home is quite inconvenient because a student needs to pay more attention to how to pay the bills beside focusing on learning in schools. This makes students work more to earn a living and the result that studying is not on the top priority and part time jobs exhaust them so hard. Most students in Vietnam try to find a part time job just when they enter in universities or colleges and even though working in a group is essential to solve assessments, they make an excuse for being in working periods and in a long road, there are many consequences they have to face up. However, whether studying far from home or not, the crucial thing is awareness. If a student aware that he or she goes studying to absorb knowledge and be more completed person, living far from home is a better option because this one can improve not just a selfcare system but also independence.

Students living far from home is generally more mature because they need to be the one decides their lives. Facing up by themselves let them see everything with its honest shape. Though it’s quite challenging for the very first time, everything is going to be in a right frame. Instead of burying in books and homework, spending time on learning soft skills like cooking, doing laundry or calculating money needs spending are quite useful and necessary to experience. In Vietnam, freshmen are usually described as naïve people, especially those living far from home but just after a year, it is hard to recognize them because they have changed a lot, their mature and experienced vibe is different.

In conclusion, although studying far from home is challenging for the very first, seems keeping the others’ cold feet, the advantages are still more meaningful because it helps a naïve student be more mature and responsible to their lives.