Many students find it difficult to concentrate or pay attention at school?

What are the reasons? What could be done to solve this problem?

It is a fact that many students have shorter attentions spans these days. This predicament can be traced back to peer pressure and the nature of conventional form of education. The most promising solutions could be stricter supervision and alterations in teaching methodology.

A lack of concentration in school is probably caused by schoolmates’ influence and academic overload. Admittedly, the negative influence of friends can exert a detrimental effect on academic performance. Take an example of children befriending a chronically absent group of peers; they may develop a tendency to become truants and join them in more interesting social activities. Negligence in academic pursuits can thus be precipitated by inconsistent presence, and serious risk of falling behind with their studies posed as a result. Another key factor may be due to the students’ workload which is notoriously hectic. Most students these days are often overwhelmed with a high volume of both in-class assignments and homework which strongly engender a feeling of tension. Hence, one defense mechanism from the students is to either not listen to teachers’ instructions or forfeit their enthusiasm for personal studies.

In order to curb this pressing issue, solutions should come from both families and educators. To begin with, is it a good idea that careful parental guidance is formed. To be more specific, parents should give children instructions on how to discern healthy and toxic friendships so that they can avoid making strong bonds with negative classmates later. For instance, the parents can tell them a story about travesties of socializing with antagonistic peers. Their children, therefore, may have a closer look on the potential consequences of ignoring school performance. On the school side, teaching syllabi should also be modified by reducing the amount of schoolwork, thus enhancing motivation among children. In this way, their stress would be much relieved, which leads to an improvement regarding in-class participation and behavior.

In summary, little attention at school might be due to peer effect and a heavy workload. Parental supervision as well as abridged teaching curriculums can be feasible solutions to this matter.