Many students find it difficult to concentrate or pay attention at school. What are the reasons? What could be done to solve this problem?

Recently, there has been an alarming trend of students who find struggling to focus on lessons at school. This can be explained by many underpinning factors such as social media platforms, internet, or impractical lessons. This essay will attempt to discuss in more depth these factors and detailed solution.

To begin with, there is no doubt that many students being distracting at school is caused by various underpinning factors. One leading reason is the distractions from social networking applications. Many social media platforms such as Facebook, TikTok, and Instagram has a significant impact on young people and it takes up most of their time. It can be said that notifications from these apps attract students to give up something and start using it. Another note-worthy cause of this problem is from lecturers. Many of them seem to use a wide range of traditional teaching approaches and theoretical assignments at school. Therefore, they may find it difficult to attract their students in lessons.

There are several actions that could be taken to solve this problem. First of all, schools should be imposed a complete ban of portable devices in classrooms. All students' devices should be stored in secure room and they just take it out after class ends. This would be effective because there is no potential distractions from social media platforms or smartphones. Furthermore, educators should redesign teaching approaches to attract students' attention, boost engagement between lecturers and students, and enhance the quality of teaching as well as studying. For example, some business universities need to incorporate with enterprises to create more interesting extracurricular activities such as visiting these companies and learn more about the way of businessman working. This would be better than just learning some theoretical lessons without applying real skills. Therefore, these students will be more likely to focus on lessons, ensuring higher chances after graduation.

In conclusion, the great numbers of students pay little attention at school due to the advent of many social media platforms, internet, or boring lessons. Moreover, I believe that if schools can combine these aforementioned things, they can attract more students to engage in class.