Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it.

Opinions vary on whether an advertisement has any effect. Although it is true that customers are oversaturated with advertising messages and are not as prone to them as before, it is still a powerful marketing tool to create awareness and persuade consumers to purchase goods.

On the one hand, advertisement has been regarded as one of the most important trade drivers since the time of the earliest merchants’ activity. Furthermore, to make the production more attractive, companies analyze the demands of potential audiences and use psychological techniques in building both the brand and marketing strategy. For instance, Apple company takes into consideration the general wishes of teenagers, such as the desire to be a part of specific social strata, to single out, and to be trendy. Meanwhile, techno-geeks promoting its competitors’ smartphones point to an IPhone’s prohibitive price, claiming that it is not value for money, but the public still prefers Apple’s gadget.

On the other hand, consumption habits are changing to conscious. According to this trend, advertisement is no longer an instrument of influence. More companies act as adherents of such an approach and deny spending huge amounts of money on promotion. Nonetheless, many of them still use commercials, though their content has undergone considerable changes. For example, they do not pay celebrities or make billboards but collaborate with the so-called micro-influencers. Sometimes an advertisement is made in a more entertaining manner. For instance, meerkat.com was nothing more than just a data analysis company, but they created a story based on the comparison of the words ‘market’ and ‘meerkat’ and made a short animated film, which led to greater attention to their products.

To sum up, it is nearly obvious that the importance of advertisement is still quite high. The changes are now held mostly in the type and content of the commercials, but it is still an effective tool in shaping the public attitude.