Many things can influence the academic achievement and emotional growth of a student. In this regard, peers have more of an impact than teachers do.

to what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Many people believe that the academic result and emotional growth of a student can be affected by a lot of things and they assume that peers can influence it more than teachers. To my view, I partly agree with this opinion.

On the one hand, friends with the same age as students have a huge impact to the students. To begin with, these friends can be motivation for students in studying. To be specific, when students see their friends hard in studying and have an improvement in their study result, they will not want to leave behind and have tendency to try their best to keep up with them. As a result, they can be pushed to study harder and have a better achievement. Additionally, students tend to share their emotions with friends rather than teachers. The reason for this is that these friends is in the same age with them so they can understand student’s problems, teenager’s problems more easily than their teachers. When students share with their peers, they can find the empathy and encouragement not judgement. And in that way, their peers can give some advices for them and affect them emotions by their words in the good or bad direction.

On the other hand, teachers also have significant influence on students. Firstly, teachers are one of the main factors that have impact on students’ study result. This is because they are people who provide them knowledge and give them some rules when they go to class to have a good achievement such as doing homework, paying attention to the lesson. And there is a fact that students have a fear for their teachers and no matter much or little students still tend to do what they ask. And by these rules and knowledge that they give, their academic result can be improved. Secondly, teachers may figure out what is wrong with students’ emotions. the reason is that teachers usually take care of their students and they may find out the negative emotions of students. And in that case, they can announce with these students’ parents and they can deal with this problems sooner, quickly and more easily. It can help their emotional growth go in a good direction.

In short, both teachers and peers have big influence on students about the academic result and emotional growth.