Many things can influence the academic achievement and emotional growth of a student. In this regard, peers have more of an impact than teachers do.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Students’ academic performance and personality development can be influenced by different factors. While some people opine that teachers have a dominant role in this development, from my perspective, peers have greater influence for the following rationales.

Initially, peers can help improve students’ performance. Being surrounded by talented classmates makes students desire to obtain more achievements, which forces them to become more diligent. Additionally, although students always show great respect and admiration for teachers, they tend not to have the courage to seek help from teachers as there is a gap between students and their tutors. Conversely, students can turn to their peers to acquire a deeper understanding of the lessons, which are so obscure for them to fully absorb.

Secondly, peers also constitute one of the main factors of emotional growth. When studying in the classroom, people are supposed to be affected by other students’ individualities since human behavior is influenced by the social environment. For instance, my new classmate is an enthusiastic person who is always willing to engage in every extracurricular activity as well as numerous responsibilities in my class. Before she came, my class seemed lethargic and we do not interact with each other much. However, we are all positively influenced by her enthusiasm and the bond among us becomes more strong.

In conclusion, peers undeniably influence children’s personality and performance at school to a great extent. It is recommended that rather than receive homeschooling, children should go to school and make friends with their classmates