Many things can influence the academic achievement and emotional growth of a student. In this regard, peers have more of an impact than teachers do.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Various factors can have an impact on students' academic performance and personal development. While some people opine that teachers have a dominant role in this development, from my perspective, peers have greater influence for the following rationales.

Initially, peers can help improve students’ performance. Being surrounded by talented classmates makes students want to achieve more, which motivates them to work harder. Additionally, although students always show great respect and admiration for teachers, they tend not to have the courage to seek help from them, as there is a gap between students and their tutors. Conversely, students can turn to their peers to acquire a deeper understanding of the lessons, which are too obscure for them to fully absorb.

Secondly, peers also constitute one of the main factors in emotional growth. People are supposed to be affected by the individualities of other students in the classroom since human behavior is influenced by the social environment. For instance, my new classmate is an enthusiastic person who is always willing to engage in every extracurricular activity as well as numerous responsibilities in my class. Before she came, my class seemed lethargic, and we did not interact with each other much. However, we are all positively influenced by her enthusiasm, and the bond among us becomes stronger.

In conclusion, peers undeniably influence children’s personalities and performance at school to a great extent. It is recommended that rather than receiving homeschooling, children should go to school and make friends with their classmates