Many universities today are offering online courses for students as an alternative of courses delivered on campus. Do advantages outweigh of this development disadvantages?

There is no doubt that with the wide application the Internet, distance learning via networking sites are replacing the guidance of teachers in the classroom. I believe that the advantages of this trend eclipse its drawbacks.

On the one hand, there are some looming problems which might lead to poor study effects. To begin with, this teaching approach lacks supervision. Unlike teachers or deskmates, the computer will not wake up a dozing student. Additionally, the students can not get direct interaction such as specific guidance from teachers, competitive and interactive study atmosphere. Only by face-to-face instruction can the teachers know the distinctive character of each student and personalize assignments and boost their learning ability. Consequently, without this advantage only campus can offer, students would be distracted, less interactive, and learning results might drop.

But on the other hand, I think the positives of online courses far outweigh their negatives. The most striking merit is that it frees the students from the confinement of time and space. Just sitting in front of a computer at home, they can start learning, thus saving them trouble commuting. It is proved to be even more convenient in the COVID-19 pandemic, when students can not go to school. In addition, these courses also help schools save money in paying for facilities. For example, schools used to have to pay a huge amount of money for electricity and water bills, now by teaching through online platforms such as Zoom, and Skype, they can stash away this money for another spending like scholarship. Another virtue that is worth mentioning is that cyber distance learning is a multimedia-based method, which allows students to replay the courses if they cannot catch up on the spot.

To conclude, while online education still cause some troubles for students, I believe that the positives of this trend can overshadow the drawbacks.