Many young people choose to take a year out between finishing school and starting university in order to gain work experience or to travel. The experience of non-academic life this offers benefits the individual when they return to education.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

After 12 years in school, undergraduates normally take a year off before going to university, they may use that time for travelling or work experience . Hence, I strongly agree with this idea due to the beneficial outcome.

As a freshman who just overcame the period to choose whether to have a gap year or not. I think that juniors are so young that they can’t know exactly how daily problems and challenges are done. Therefore, they might need time for travelling to meet new people and know more about other cultures. Also, students can earn real - life experience and then they would not hesitate to choose better what they really can do for a living. A proof of it is my cousin, who has a part time job after he has finished the academy. He worked as an assistant for interpreters in order to find out about the major he is going to study. After two months, he knows that he really likes to be an interpreter so that he won’t feel regret.

On the other hand, when students work in a practical environment, it could help them plan for their study in the near future. Because this non-academic experience would bring many points of view about their major. For instance, my friend was interviewed to be a sales staff because she wants to know more about her profession - marketing. After three months, she decided to change her course as she felt difficult to communicate with fastidious customers. Fortunately, she soon knows that marketing isn’t suitable for her and turns into accounting.

In conclusion, having a gap year before studying at university is helpful for undergraduates. It not only gives them time for relaxation, work experience, opportunities,… but also helps to come from the best starting-point.