Many young people choose to take a year out between finishing school and starting university in order to gain work experience or to travel. The experience of non-academic life this offers benefits the individual when they return to education.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Taking a year off before going to the university is a popular option in recent years. Some people may think that it could be wasting time, however, others think this can be a great opportunity to learn more about themselves. In my opinion, having either a job or a long-term trip is always a good option for young people before they start university.

When I was in high school, I didn’t know what I actually want until I graduated from the high school. I was always regretted that I spent so much time on studying rather than paying more attentions on myself. So I think for the young people, especially those who don’t know what they want, taking a year out of the school can be a good chance to learn other things that cannot be taught in schools. (Also,) They can find an internship to have an early peak of the industry or do a volunteering(, which can be another great experiences in their life.) to gain some special experiences. (With these, they can learn more about not only this world but also themselves. And also, they can possibly be more determined on what they want when they go back to the school.)

However, going back to studying after a year off could be a tiring thing for some people. Since they may suffer from adjusting the pace of the school or even their mindset. And for others, a financial problem could be another big stress. They may find out that it is harder to focus on their study because of these problems. Some countries, as far as I know, will not accept the entrance exam scores that they have taken a year before, which brings another pressure on some students to prepare for the exams . (These certainly are some concerns for the option, and students have to take it seriously before making a decision.)

Although there are some downsides that we have to consider, I still think that it will be good if we can take a break before going to another long-term journey. I also believe that this can help us to develop our individual mindset and discover other things we may interested in .