Many young people choose to take a year out between finishing school and starting university in order to gain work experience or to travel. The experience of non-academic life this offers benefits the individual when they return to education.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is true that many youngsters decided to take a year off after they finished school and before starting university, so that they can take experience about their major or take a tour. Personally, I completely agree with this statement for some reasons.

There are two main reasons why young people should take a year. One reason is that the experience or travel can help people know more information which really needed for them in their education. For example, students after finished their high school study, they need an experience in reality or take a tour to another places. In their experience, they can learn many things not only about their major that they will follow in the future but also all field they can learn in the university. Furthermore, young people can practice and improve many skills which they will use to solve problems in their study.

Apart from the practical benefits expressed above, I believed that young people can try to use a year to do something that is necessary for them. Firstly, in a year before they had started university, become a volunteer and join an organization is a good way to overcome a new job with no payment. Secondly, the young who will learn university far from their family usually think it is a long time because they will not live with their parents and take care of themselves. They can have more time before going to university for their parents and family reunion.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, I strongly believe that there are many choices for young people in a year after finished high school to become a good memory in their life and good for their education when they return to the university.