Many young people leave school with negative attitudes towards learning. Why? What can be done to encourage a positive attitude to learning in young people?

These days, more and more students drop out of school for having negative prejudice towards learning. This trend may be caused by the ignorance of educators and ineffective teaching methods, and there are some potential actions that can be taken by teachers and schools to address this problem.

To commence with, that students hold bad opinions about schooling and leave schools can be resulted from the lack of consideration from teachers. As each child has different levels of ability and acquires new knowledge at different pace, if teachers only take notice of intelligent individuals without caring for those less capable, these students cannot keep up with the speed of the lessons. As a result, they are likely to be demotivated and thus, having no more interest in studying. Moreover, negative viewpoints of students over learning may also be the consequence of constant theory-oriented lessons. As teachers only give academic information without visual aids or practical experiences, students will find their lessons at school boring and monotonous and fail to concentrate on studying.

However, these negative attitudes of students can be improved by taking some measures. First, teachers should keep track of each student’s ability by giving them equal chances to answer questions during lessons. They should also create pairs of excellent and less intelligent students so that they can help each other to make progress. In this way, students with less capability may feel being considerated and thus, being encouraged to try harder. In addition, schools should plan more occasional practical experiences for students to raise their learning spirit. For example, many schools in the USA have organised school trips to local museums in history lessons, and even camp tours to the forests to discover the biological world. This will help provoke students’ natural curiosity and desire to discover new things, thus gaining more enthusiasm about learning.

To conclude, knowing that the misconsidertion of teachers and tedious theory-based lessons can lead students to form negative views over schooling and leave school, teachers should take more care of each student and schools should create more real-life experiences to foster students’ interest in studying.