In some countries around the world, men and women are having babies late in life. What are the reasons? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, in a number of nations, especially in developed ones, people have a tendency to give birth later in their life. While this trend may bring certain benefits, which are also the reasons people choose to do this, I believe that these benefits are eclipsed by potential disadvantages.

On the one hand, that many couples decide to have kids lately may be because it gives them more time to make preparations before becoming parents. They may have longer time to experience more jobs, salaries from which provide them with financial abilities to purchase house and savings for their future kids. Moreover, they can also draw parental experience from real-life situations of other parents, thus having enough skills before giving birth. As a result, the children born will be able to grow up in the best condition possible both physically and mentally.

However, this benefit can be outweighed by its harms, which may be unpredictable physical malformations in the born kids. This is possibly becase when people get older, their body functions tend to decline, accompanied with some risky diseases often seen in older people, which may lead to unexpected dangers, including children’s disabilities. This not only puts a heavy burden on the parents, but also causes physical and psychological sufferings to their children when they grow up.

To conclude, while it is undeniable that having babies lately helps people to be better prepared in terms of financial support and parental experience, this will be outweighed by the fact that it will cause children to suffer from potential physical deformities.