Many young people now know more about international pop and movie stars than famous people in the history of their countries.

What are the causes? Give solutions to increase the number of people to know about famous people in history.

In recent times, the sphere of entertainment has gained exponential ubiquity. Thus, more individuals are gravitating towards finding out about the personal life of celebrities or singers rather than that of prominent figures or leaders of a revolution in the past. In this essay, the reasons for this notion will be elucidated before suggesting any medium to arise people’s interests and curiosities for those salient historical figures.

To begin with, a major reason why youngsters are likely to be drawn to celebrities’ personal business is courtesy of social media. It is undeniable that those online platforms promote publicity and perfection, therefore, when the young see an influencer or a celebrity’s post depicting their lavishing and debauchery lifestyle, they might develop a sense of admiration for the brush-up and filtered life of those famous individuals. In addition, it is notable that nowadays, at a click of a button, people are exposed to a ubiquitous number of online articles dedicating to the personal businesses of notorious people or celebrities which significantly outnumber those about historical figures or the plights and predicaments of people during wartime. To mitigate this, it is the media’s responsibility to post articles relating to those brave individuals. In that way, youngsters could accumulate a deeper understanding of the past and broaden their horizons.

Additionally, unengaging history lessons at school are partly contributed to students’ lack of interest in this subject. For example, students are asked to remember historical dates and events without having any conspicuous explanation for their importance. Furthermore, with subpar illustrations, textbooks in use might not be able to gain students’ attention. Hence, the way forward might be to increase the importance of teacher’s emotions when delivering historical knowledge for students as well as integrate more illustrative pictures or videos for better profound lessons.

In conclusion, social media and the wrong teaching methods could change the young generation’s perspective about learning history and prominent historical figures, however, with careful choices of posting articles and teacher’s emotions added in when teaching, students will soon regain their curiosities for famous people in history.