As mass communication and transport continue to grow, societies are becoming more and more alike leading to a phenomenon known as globalisation. Some people fear that globalisation will inevitably lead to the total loss of cultural identity.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Globalisation means that people around the world without the difference of culture and nationality are becoming more and more familiar. Today, with cultural exchange between countries, peoples eat the same food, watch same movie, listen to same music and we have same style.

If the global diversity of cultural identities is being lost, people from other nations will have the same looks because they have dressed the same, then must means that culture differences are disappearing. In my point of view, I do not agree with that statement because cultural differences are as present as ever.

Cultural identify is built on far more than just the film we watch or the jeans we wear. The foundation of cultural identify is shared values. When you look in the detail of different cultures you will see that the values which made up the culture for one country is totally difference with other countries.

An example, although you never have to visited Japan but if somebody ask you how people in Japan live. You will think that Japanese people work very hard with very long hour of work, and they have almost no leisure time. But the Greek is in contrast, they have so many leisure time and they usually spend leisure time for their family as they possibly can. Even if we consume the same products, I would argue that there are still some very deep-rooted difference.

In conclusion, I do not agree with that statement about loss cultural identity, despite the influence of large companies and their products around the globe