Mass media like TV, newspaper and radio influence people, particularly young generation. Do you think it works as a pivot to shape the society? What is your opinion?

Nowadays, the influence of media has become a long-running dispute among the public all over the world, which leads to a moot question “whether mass media shape the society or not?”. It is a widely held view that broadcasting devices are highly beneficial, whereas I tend to believe that one must weigh up carefully the pros and cons of this issue.

To begin with, it is a common belief that media such as TV, newspaper, and the Internet play a vital role in each society. To put into consideration, I express some reasons. First and foremost is that people’s public awareness will be raised in terms of socio-economic, technology, medical fields, and keeping up with the latest news, Secondly, it can be argued that the juveniles will be able to promote their knowledge by searching the Internet and watching documentary programs. In addition to this information, it should be mentioned that media form people’s culture, character, and attitudes. A group of scientists, working at a prestigious university conducted that mass media consist of an extensive range of beneficial educational programs.

However, there is no doubt that constant use of mass media provides people with various negative points. It should be taken into account that some violent and unpleasant programs in TV and the Internet lead to damaging consequences to the society. Moreover, it is quite clear that watching TV or reading newspapers that comprising flashy advertisement tempt people to purchase the products without knowing them.

To recapitulate, I firmly believe that some informed decision must be taken into consideration to take a balance between widespread uses of mass media. However, as every garden may have some weeds, the local authorities are recommended to enforce stricter legislation, and individuals are hoped to heighten their intellect.