The media pay too much attention to the lives and relationships of celebrities such as actors, singers or footballers. They should spend more time reporting the lives of ordinary people instead

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The twenty-first century has witnessed significant development of media: online & offline. However, some people believe that media are paying too much attention to famous persons, and it could lead to a negative impact on the young generation. I do believe that radios, TVs, or newspapers should reduce that kind of news by reporting about ordinary people.

Media does not only influence human behaviors, but it also controls people’s minds, especially the youth. Most teenagers see actors, singers as their model idols, and they tend to imitate the idol’s action without thinking. I often see boys practice smoking in their schoolyard because they saw their favorite actor smoking in movies or TV shows. It is certainly even worse when media has been reporting too much about celebrities' private life and scandal to get more attention from audiences. As a result, these lead adolescents to copy such a bad lifestyle, attitude, and behavior.

Besides, media functions include not only entertainment but also informing every subject of life. By reporting the ordinary people that could help everybody to get a better understanding of problems and issues, therefore people could have suitable action to deal with it. For examples: Currently updating the progress of COVID 19 in our community is a big help to citizens to aware of the situation and having prevention actions such as: avoiding go to diseases areas, keep wearing a mask, keep social distancing and washing hands every day

To sum up, instead of spending too much on famous persons the media should focus on ordinary people. Because everyone wants to know and understand what is happening in their community and country